The World Upside Down Kickstarter Project

Image: 

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/643024268/the-world-upside-down?ref=...

Project Statement and Purpose:

My name is Lee Smathers. I'm an American expat photography professor teaching in Daegu, South Korea. Every time I go to a festival or nearly ever place I go in Korea, I see people with their newest and badest DSLRs. Straight down to the lenses. The photography hobbyists here go nuts with their gear. If I'm doing street photography, I usually travel around with my M6 or Rolleiflex. People often ask me why I'm still shooting film, but they seem to be envious of my cameras ((Don't they realize my cameras are 30-50 years old and can be had for a fraction of the newest DSLR body that's in their hands??)). When I go to the mountains, I'm usually taking my great grandfather's 4x5 Speed Graphic or my recently self-restored 5x7 Eastman Kodak 2-D. (The details of that camera's restoration are now under the update on my Kickstarter page, if you're interested). I hear people calling my 4x5 Speed Graphic a Hasselblad or a Leica.

I'm here to educate and influence.

By the time my first year photography students come to my classes, they hate the darkroom. I thought to myself, how can I get my students interested in traditional photography? Well I began to teach my students how to develop film in coffee and using Diafine. Both of these developers are very unique. First we mixed caffenol and the aroma of the coffee really pleased the students. The usage of water instead of a stop bath and finally looking at perfectly developed images, amazed my students. In another class, 15 students processed their different films with Diafine one after another in an assembly line, using only 500 ml.